An epic dramatic tale

September 14, 2015

I love long dramatic stories that detail how people’s lives are intertwined over a series of years and different life experiences. One writer that comes to mind who has an amazing talent with this is Jeffrey Archer and I can now add Frank Settineri to that list. “In the Shadows of the Oaks” is a fantastic story of Sean, a young teacher in the local school who tries to do right by his students and his peers, yet is human and struggles with many issues that most readers could probably identify with, myself included. The struggles touched on in this story include racism, poverty, and relationship issues, among others and I found this to be an incredibly well-written and engaging tale that was hard to walk away from at the end of the day. A great first novel by Settineri.


Review From Amazon Kindle

Great Read

March 19, 2015

I have some free time last week so I was looking for some good reads to spend my time indoor. I guess this book that has romance and personal struggles all combined would work well. So I did not hesitate to purchase it and I spent some good time with this thick book.

The story begins with Sean Allen after he starts teaching in an urban school. He found himself caught in between a mother of a student and a fellow teacher. The writing is interesting and very easy to read, but very hard to put down. It is a wonderful adventure and one of those books that stay in your mind long after reading it.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who love a good read.


Review From Amazon Kindle

This book is both heart warming and heart wrenching

April 2, 2015

This book is both heart warming and heart wrenching. The struggle for forbidden love and the struggles of the people and kids in the inner city made me tear up more than once. The emotions are very real and I felt all of them. Books are supposed to pull you in and this one sure pulled me and made me see things in a very different light. The strong characters make it so engaging and intense I did not want it to end.

The detailing is raw and hardcore and a bit graphic but it gets the point across. It was an easy read and I did enjoy it. I do like the style and depth of the author Frank Settineri and he has certainly captured my attention and I will be looking for more of his work. I strongly recommend this book to adults, it is deep and powerful and a stark reminder of the real world. Open your mind and open your eyes and enjoy.
Great job Frank!


Review From Barnes and Noble


February 12, 2015

This is a book that has a “wow” factor. I feel like this can’t be properly placed in just a single genre because there are just so many dimensions to this story: it reads like a novel, but it addresses many important issues facing our generation today, for example. What I loved was that the author pulled a lot from his own experience into Shadows of the Oaks, and I think that really added yet another layer of realism to the story overall. The author’s writing style is engaging and the story brings to light many modern day social issues that aren’t talked about enough–poverty, social inequalities, drugs… and so on. While this is hardly considered a “short” read (and will likely take you plenty of time to finish) it’s definitely worth it. I couldn’t put it down!

By cc2015

Review From Amazon Kindle

A Great Journey and Big Story

March 12, 2015

In the Shadows of the Oaks is an epic tale that brings together a lot of social issues, personal struggles and many of the constraints and restrictive facets of the system of management, government and bureaucratic red tape and abuse of power. This is as much about inner-city life as it is about inner-demons and finding a way in a world that is at times a bit upside down and unpredictable. The author introduces us to Sean, a complicated young teacher starting a job that will fight him in almost as many ways as he will fight it, in the beginning. Brenda’ story leaves you feeling a bit stronger as she works so hard to stay ahead of a nervous breakdown. The transformation that a lot of the characters take really plays out strong and sharp, many doing a one-eighty or having to almost go full circle, like Landi, in order to grow or for some, simply to survive. A great big novel that truly immerses you deeply into its world.

By D Roberts

Review From Amazon Kindle

An Urban Saga

February 12, 2015

The teacher in this story, who’s struggle this is, in part– gets himself mired in a situation, in circumstances quite removed from what he was ever familiar with, and in a place that fights as much against him, as he against it. This was like a DIY career posting in a school system given to corruption and lethargy, a look-in on modern history inner-city schools, life and social structures. Dealing with poverty, racism, drugs… really a ‘Stand & Deliver’ tale; Sean Allen, the teacher tries his best to Dead Poet Society his charges, but it’s not easy while he himself is juggling multiple relationships::: One from his own professional ‘class’, but jumping the tracks and also getting involved with a ‘native’– as it were, a woman from the same mindset & culture as his charges. Complications don’t get more complicated, or potentially dangerous.

From Mr. Settineri’s own Bio (and I like to take a look at these), he has 30 Years of real-to-life material to put into this… and checking in at over 700 pages on my kindle, this incredible story is every bit the “Saga” I named it.

Great Read, I recommend.

By J.Q.L. 4150

Review From Amazon Kindle

A Triumph! High Quality Literature…

February 21, 2015

First of all, let me say right at the outset how ridiculous it is that a book as extraordinary as this one costs so little – it’s a real shame, and I would gladly pay a lot more for this book. “In the Shadows of the Oaks” is a major writing effort, over 700 pages, each written with great thinking and effort put behind it.

This is clearly not one of those write-a-Kindle-book-a-week efforts that I see all around me. As author Frank Settineri admits, it took him 30 long years to write this book, and it shows. This book is a labor of love, a work of a lifetime, and I hope it gets the attention it so richly deserves.

Now, about the story – it’s about young Sean Allen, a character who reminded me a bit of myself. A sheltered and spoiled kid, who wastes away his days in college, and has to settle for a middle school teaching position in the toughest school in New York, one with the worst teaching conditions, where the students have no respect for the teachers or, for that matter, for each other.

If that wasn’t tough enough, there is racism, politics, corruption and a strong suspicion of interracial relationships. Sean accepts the challenge head first, tries to become the best teacher he could be and really improve the lives of his students.

It’s not easy, he gets embroiled into more relationships than he could handle, and what’s worse, gets involved in an interracial love-triangle. There’s murder, constant running battles between street gangs, drugs…you get the picture. It look me a long time to read this book, and finishing it gave me the satisfaction you get when you know you’ve read a book of real quality.

By Ranger

Review From Amazon Kindle

A Triumph! High Quality Literature…

May 8th, 2015

The themes of inner city struggles and societal issues have always interested me, and this book does a good job bringing the raw reality of such environment to life. From the gangs, crime, relationships to racism, this book covers a lot of ground and the storyline progresses in a well written way to deliver an impactful message. Very inspiring and real, this one is definitely worth the read.

By Joan L.

Review From Amazon Kindle